Joseph Campbell

“People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances with our own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.”

“The agony of breaking through personal limitations is the agony of spiritual growth. Art, literature, myth and cult, philosophy, and ascetic disciplines are instruments to help the individual past his limiting horizons into spheres of ever-expanding realization. As he crosses threshold after threshold, conquering dragon after dragon, the stature of the divinity that he summons to his highest wish increases, until it subsumes the cosmos. Finally, the mind breaks the bounding sphere of the cosmos to a realization transcending all experiences of form – all symbolizations, all divinities: a realization of the ineluctable void.”

2 Comments on “Joseph Campbell”

  1. […] Joseph Campbell – a collection of wise words (abelieverinhumanity.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Jeff Brown says:

    That’s good stuff! I did the same thing with the U.S. Constitution… when I really needed to understand it, I googled founding father quotes & I’m absolutely astonished at how much I’ve learned! I got in the minds of the men who wrote & now I feel like I fully understand it & it was as simple as a few google searches. Thanks for this post! Have a great night!


Leave a Reply

